Skip to content
Trafford Counts — Trafford, in numbers.Local help →

Trafford, in numbers

People and living standards

Trafford council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Trafford council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 215,799 in 1991 to 240,981 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Trafford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 214,590 people in 1996; 240,981 people in 2025. 12.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Trafford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991215,799
1992215,348
1993215,401
1994215,171
1995214,733
1996214,590
1997213,492
1998214,159
1999212,951
2000211,287
2001210,172
2002211,062
2003213,031
2004214,129
2005215,430
2006217,369
2007219,359
2008220,939
2009223,065
2010225,234
2011227,091
2012228,512
2013230,367
2014231,799
2015232,504
2016233,710
2017234,917
2018235,623
2019236,121
2020235,937
2021235,586
2022236,599
2023238,189
2024239,618
2025240,981
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Trafford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 44,489 people in 1996; 49,394 people in 2025. 11% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Trafford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199144,182
199244,463
199344,810
199445,017
199544,731
199644,489
199744,057
199844,015
199943,765
200043,155
200142,429
200242,414
200342,785
200442,849
200543,220
200643,449
200743,662
200843,977
200944,664
201045,163
201145,893
201246,470
201346,956
201447,344
201547,753
201648,387
201749,080
201849,342
201949,280
202049,224
202148,844
202249,305
202349,536
202449,570
202549,394
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Trafford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 135,616 people in 1996; 148,341 people in 2025. 9.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Trafford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991137,349
1992136,541
1993136,231
1994135,863
1995135,526
1996135,616
1997135,064
1998135,714
1999134,964
2000134,012
2001133,633
2002134,474
2003135,815
2004136,657
2005137,443
2006139,294
2007141,047
2008141,941
2009142,873
2010143,999
2011144,731
2012144,543
2013144,993
2014145,327
2015145,182
2016145,186
2017145,380
2018145,677
2019145,853
2020145,509
2021145,273
2022145,395
2023146,391
2024147,372
2025148,341
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Trafford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 34,485 people in 1996; 43,246 people in 2025. 25.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Trafford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199134,268
199234,344
199334,360
199434,291
199534,476
199634,485
199734,371
199834,430
199934,222
200034,120
200134,110
200234,174
200334,431
200434,623
200534,767
200634,626
200734,650
200835,021
200935,528
201036,072
201136,467
201237,499
201338,418
201439,128
201539,569
201640,137
201740,457
201840,604
201940,988
202041,204
202141,469
202241,899
202342,262
202442,676
202543,246
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 235,053 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Trafford · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh29,58812.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8,0863.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups8,8343.8%
White182,76177.8%
Other ethnic group5,7842.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 226,578 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Trafford · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White193,83485.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups6,0312.7%
Asian/Asian British17,9737.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British6,5402.9%
Other ethnic group2,2001%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 210,145 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Trafford · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White192,57591.6%
Mixed3,2011.5%
Asian/Asian British8,5084%
Black/Black British4,1072%
Chinese/Other1,7540.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 13.2% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Trafford council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £13,141 per person in 1997; £29,384 per person in 2024. 123.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Trafford council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199713,141
199813,098
199913,851
200014,616
200114,970
200215,243
200315,464
200415,852
200516,266
200616,718
200717,244
200817,423
200917,668
201017,742
201117,808
201218,341
201318,959
201419,285
201520,881
201620,940
201721,591
201822,892
201923,896
202023,350
202124,060
202225,750
202327,591
202429,384
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Trafford council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 23.9% in 1997; 13.2% in 2024. 10.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Trafford council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199723.9
199821
199922.4
200022.8
200121
200220.5
200318.6
200416.8
200515.7
200614.2
200712.4
200810.6
200910.3
20109.9
20119.3
20128.6
20138.2
20146.6
20159.8
20168.7
20179.6
201812.2
201913.4
202011.2
202110.1
202212.1
202312.8
202413.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.9%

21 March 2021 · Trafford council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.3%

21 March 2021 · Trafford council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14%

21 March 2021 · Trafford council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.6%

21 March 2021 · Trafford council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£401,000

July 2026 · Trafford council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,369

August 2026 · Trafford council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.